Thomas B Casale, MD

Thomas B Casale, MD

Dr. Casale joined the Division of Allergy/Immunology in 2013 as Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics and Chief of Clinical and Translational Research. He is also Chief Medical Advisor, Food Allergy Research and Education (FARE).

Prior, he was Professor of Medicine and Medical Microbiology and Immunology and Chief of Allergy/Immunology at Creighton University. He did an Allergy/Immunology fellowship at NIH, where he was chief medical staff fellow.

From 1984 to 1996, he was at the University of Iowa, where he attained the rank of Professor of Medicine and Director of Allergy/Immunology.

He is a member of the American Society for Clinical Investigation and a past member of the Board of Directors of the American Thoracic Society, World Allergy Organization (WAO), American Board of Allergy and Immunology (Chair 2005), and the American Academy of Allergy, Asthma, and Immunology (AAAAI).

He is a Past President of the AAAAI and was the Executive Vice President for 10 years.

He has published over 450 scientific papers, reviews, and chapters primarily on asthma, COPD, and allergic diseases; organized and directed more than fifty CME programs for local and national meetings; and been a member of the planning committee for five World Asthma Meetings.

He has been on the editorial boards of multiple journals, including JACI, Annals of Allergy, JACI Practice, and European Respiratory Journal.